ISLC already running on startup

Post Reply
newley
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 13, 2021 11:28 am

ISLC already running on startup

Post by newley »

So I had ISLC installed and since it was bugging I deleted the folder without unchecking anything. Later on I reinstalled it and now every time I boot my PC up I get a message saying that "ISLC is already running" and sometimes the message is shown even multiple times. Is there any way to fix this?

ISLC already running on startup

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

User avatar
Wagnard
Site Admin
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 5:18 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: ISLC already running on startup

Post by Wagnard »

newley wrote: Thu May 13, 2021 11:30 am So I had ISLC installed and since it was bugging I deleted the folder without unchecking anything. Later on I reinstalled it and now every time I boot my PC up I get a message saying that "ISLC is already running" and sometimes the message is shown even multiple times. Is there any way to fix this?
Check if you see multiple instance in windows "Task Scheduler" and removed them

newley
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 13, 2021 11:28 am

Re: ISLC already running on startup

Post by newley »

What should it be called? I don't seem to find multiple or any at all unless it's named something else.

User avatar
Wagnard
Site Admin
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 5:18 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: ISLC already running on startup

Post by Wagnard »

newley wrote: Thu May 13, 2021 2:51 pm What should it be called? I don't seem to find multiple or any at all unless it's named something else.
If it's not there than find how you are staring it. ISLC autostart itself with taskscheduler.

newley
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 13, 2021 11:28 am

Re: ISLC already running on startup

Post by newley »

I tried starting my PC up without TaskScheduler enabled. It doesn't show up anymore, seems to be the fix. Also can you suggest me settings for 16gb RAM system? I saw you saying keeping both at 1024MB is fine, but that means my free ram goes down to 1024MB, wouldn't it be better to use 8192MB?

User avatar
Wagnard
Site Admin
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 5:18 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: ISLC already running on startup

Post by Wagnard »

newley wrote: Fri May 14, 2021 3:39 am I tried starting my PC up without TaskScheduler enabled. It doesn't show up anymore, seems to be the fix. Also can you suggest me settings for 16gb RAM system? I saw you saying keeping both at 1024MB is fine, but that means my free ram goes down to 1024MB, wouldn't it be better to use 8192MB?
You should enable task scheduler (required for windows to operate normally) and really remove the task name : "Intelligent StandbyList Cleaner"

You should also keep the default value of 1024mb. We want to use all your ram for the maximum of time possible and clean it if it goes to low. The standby List cache is not a bad thing in itself, its a cache, inly prob is if it eat up all the memory.
You dont want to clean massively non stop because this will /may create stutter.

newley
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 13, 2021 11:28 am

Re: ISLC already running on startup

Post by newley »

So I should remove the task from task scheduler but run it with task scheduler?

Post Reply