Command line?

Post Reply
Drakka
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 8:05 pm

Command line?

Post by Drakka »

Can I use ddu with command line?
What line to use if I want to remove amd drivers in a non safe mode.

Command line?

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

lukas86
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 1:41 am

Re: Command line?

Post by lukas86 »

I would also like to use this tool in command line.
And I think many others would to.
Background:
When having a standalone-machine without connected monitor (for example a mining-machine) and you connect via teamviewer, you will only have a 640x480 resolution and the DDU-App only appears with a (white or black) "screen".
Running via a commandline would be simple work around.

Thanks
User avatar
Wagnard
Site Admin
Posts: 1675
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 5:18 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: Command line?

Post by Wagnard »

lukas86 wrote: Sun May 13, 2018 1:46 am I would also like to use this tool in command line.
And I think many others would to.
Background:
When having a standalone-machine without connected monitor (for example a mining-machine) and you connect via teamviewer, you will only have a 640x480 resolution and the DDU-App only appears with a (white or black) "screen".
Running via a commandline would be simple work around.

Thanks
Yep. Here are some.

-Silent
-Shutdown
-Restart
-NoSafeModeMsg
-CleanNvidia
-CleanAmd
-CleanIntel
-CleanRealtek
-CleanSoundBlaster
-PreventWinUpdate
-NoRestorePoint
-RemovePhysx
-RemoveGFE
-RemoveNVBROADCAST
-RemoveNVCP
-RemoveINTELCP
-RemoveAMDCP
-KeepNVCPopt (keep the nvidia control panel option)
-RemoveAMDKMPFD
-RemoveAudioBus
-RemoveVulkan
-removemonitors
-removenvidiadirs
-removeamddirs
-remove3dtvplay
-removecrimsoncache
-cleanallgpus

Note that they are case insensitive.
Edited 05-05-2023
User avatar
Wagnard
Site Admin
Posts: 1675
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 5:18 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: Command line

Post by Wagnard »

Michaelstugh wrote: Wed Jul 25, 2018 10:07 am Hi there
Just a question, can I use this program from command line, i mean can i pass the password from command line as an argument???? if so, can u tell me how.

Regards

Hector
Sorry you can't pass the login password via command-line
Treecoolor
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:03 am

Re: Command line?

Post by Treecoolor »

Wagnard wrote: Sun May 13, 2018 4:13 pm Yep. Here are some.

-silent
-logging
-createsystemrestorepoint
-removemonitors
-nosafemodemsg
-restart
-removeamdaudiobus
-removeamdkmpfd
-cleanamd
-cleanintel
-cleannvidia
Is it possible to run DDU with command line arguments with auto restart to safe mode so that it automatically (in accordance with the given arguments) does the cleanup and go restart system after to do?
For example:

Code: Select all

"Display Driver Uninstaller.exe" -silent -restart -cleanamd
[/b]
IMHO, the argument list lacks one key for this to work: -restarttosafemode
I suppose that its meaning is obvious - to tell the program to reboot in safe mode, and without requiring any actions from the user, to work in accordance with other specified arguments.
This feature is very necessary to remove drivers in remote access mode, as in this case there is no possibility to control the program behavior in safe mode.
No need to explain related automated logon issues in safe mode (netplwiz).
Bazal
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Command line?

Post by Bazal »

While installing an AMD driver (not that it matters, but it's for the Radeon 7850m) , my computer froze and restarted into BSOD and from the recovery environment, all options fail. (startup repair, reset this PC, uninstall updates, no restore points or system images), and all startup settings options(safe mode, etc) also lead to BSOD. The only thing that works is the command line

So my question is. Is it possible to use ddu from the recovery environment command line and target the windows image in the standard C:/ drive instead of the image that's loaded in the recovery environment (x:/). From the directory that contains the exe, I tried running '"Display Driver Uninstaller.exe" -cleanamd' (without the single quotes) but nothing seems to happen. It's as if I just hit enter on the cmd with nothing in the field. Am I typing the instruction wrong? Or is ddu command line just not meant to run from a recovery environment.
User avatar
Wagnard
Site Admin
Posts: 1675
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 5:18 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: Command line?

Post by Wagnard »

Bazal wrote: Wed May 13, 2020 3:57 pm While installing an AMD driver (not that it matters, but it's for the Radeon 7850m) , my computer froze and restarted into BSOD and from the recovery environment, all options fail. (startup repair, reset this PC, uninstall updates, no restore points or system images), and all startup settings options(safe mode, etc) also lead to BSOD. The only thing that works is the command line

So my question is. Is it possible to use ddu from the recovery environment command line and target the windows image in the standard C:/ drive instead of the image that's loaded in the recovery environment (x:/). From the directory that contains the exe, I tried running '"Display Driver Uninstaller.exe" -cleanamd' (without the single quotes) but nothing seems to happen. It's as if I just hit enter on the cmd with nothing in the field. Am I typing the instruction wrong? Or is ddu command line just not meant to run from a recovery environment.
Hi,
That's a good question, I never tried it. But my first answer would be no as by default DDU is a .NET graphical application.
User avatar
Wagnard
Site Admin
Posts: 1675
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 5:18 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: Command line?

Post by Wagnard »

john123 wrote: Mon Oct 05, 2020 8:03 pm Hello
can I pass the password from command line as an argument???? if it is possible can anyone explain in me in detail?
No
Post Reply